Wednesday, March 24, 2004

A Closer Look at the Territory

by Pam Brink, President

Welcome to all of our new members. Thank you for your commitment to The West Texas Coalition of Democrats. We are a Texas PAC eager to build the broad regional network of human and financial resources to elect progressive Democrats to office.

We represent the concerns of Texans who live west of I-35 to New Mexico and from the Oklahoma border to the Edwards Plateau, plus El Paso and the other communities of far West Texas. In Texas political terms, this vast region comprises Texas Senate Districts 19, 28, 29, 30, and 31, a strong community of interest defined by our semiarid environment, our rural-based economy, and our social values.

What follows is a list of the counties that comprise our Coalition, as of now! Who knows what the Republicans will try to do to us next! PLEASE NOTE: The West Texas Coalition of Democrats is shaped by Texas Senate Districts, because the Executive Committee of the Texas State Democratic Party is comprised of one woman and one man elected from each Texas Senate District. The counties comprising the Senate Districts are not to be confused with the latest Congressional redistricting contrivances.

Senate District 19 (State Senator: Frank Madla - D, San Antonio)

Bandera, Bexar (part), Brewster, Crockett, Culberson, Edwards, El Paso (part), Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Reeves, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, Winkler.

Senate District 28 (State Senator: Robert Duncan - R, Lubbock)

Armstrong, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Coke, Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hardeman, Haskell, Hockley, Irion, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Mitchell, Motley, Nolan, Reagan, Runnels, Schleicher, Scurry, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Terry, Tom Green, Upton, Wheeler.

Senate District 29 (State Senator: Eliot Shapleigh - D, El Paso)

El Paso (part)

Senate District 30 (State Senator: Craig Estes - R, Wichita Falls)

Archer, Baylor, Clay, Collin (part), Cooke, Denton (part), Grayson, Jack, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Shackelford, Stephens, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Young.

Senate District 31 (State Senator: Teel Bivins - R, Amarillo)

Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Crane, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Ector, Gaines, Classcock, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Howard, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Martin, Midland, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman Yoakum.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home